United States Air Force Commisioned Officer Rank Structure

Paygrade Title Insignia
collar device
O-1 Second Lieutenant
O-2 First Lieutenant
O-3 Captain
O-4 Major
O-5 Lieutenant Colonel
O-6 Colonel
O-7 Brigadier General
O-8 Major General
O-9 Lieutenant General
O-10 General
Special General of the Air Force
wartime rank only